New Humboldt award winner at LMU

30 Jun 2022

Physicist Keisuke Goda has received a Philipp Franz von Siebold Award from the Humboldt Foundation. He is using the award for a research stay at the Biomedical Center Munich and the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.

Prof. Keisuke Goda

Keisuke Goda is an expert in the field of biophotonics. The main objective of his research is the combination of photonics and microfluidics for the development of new biomedical technologies. These technologies could help us better understand the connection between the spatial architecture of cells and their physiological functions. In particular, Goda has successfully developed several innovative methods of ultrafast optical imaging and spectroscopy and made it possible for them to be used on chips. Among other things, he was the first to demonstrate the image-activated cell sorting (IACS) technology, which enables AI-assisted image-based sorting of cells in real time. At LMU’s Biomedical Center, Keisuke Goda will be the guest of Prof. Nicolai Siegel. One of Goda’s objectives during his research stay will be to help establish IACS in Munich. In addition, he will seek to strengthen the existing partnership between Serendipity Labs, which he himself founded, and the Cell2Cell project for early-career researchers, which was co-founded by Siegel.

Keisuke Goda is Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Tokyo, Adjunct Professor in the Institute of Technological Sciences at Wuhan University, and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Bioengineering at University of California Los Angeles (UCLA). He obtained a B.A. from UC Berkeley in 2001 and a PhD from MIT in 2007, both in physics. Goda was a researcher at California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and UCLA, before moving to the University of Tokyo to take up a professorship in 2012.

The Philipp Franz von Siebold Award was established by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in 1979. Endowed by the President of Germany, the award is presented annually to a Japanese researcher or academic who has rendered special service in furthering mutual understanding between German and Japanese cultures and societies. Traditionally, the prize is awarded personally by the sitting President of Germany.

What are you looking for?