New Vice-Presidents for LMU

10 Jul 2019

In their latest session, the members of the University Council elected four Vice-Presidents.

The University Council approved the list of candidates proposed by the President of LMU, Professor Bernd Huber, with 18 of the 20 votes cast being in favor. Of those newly elected to the Executive Board, Professor Francesca Biagini (Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Statistics) will be responsible for International Affairs and Diversity, while Professor Oliver Jahraus (Faculty of Languages and Literatures) will serve as Vice-President for Teaching and Studies. Dr. Sigmund Stintzing (Faculty of Physics) and Professor Hans van Ess (Faculty for the Study of Culture) were re-elected. Dr. Stintzing will remain Vice-President for Academic Appointments, while Professor Hans van Ess will take over as Vice President for Research in the autumn. Their three-year terms of office begin on October 1, 2019.

Professor Dr. Francesca Biagini studied Mathematics at the University of Pisa and the Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa. On completion of her studies in 1996, she went on to obtain a Ph.D. in Mathematical Finance at the latter institution. Having served as Assistant Professor at the University of Bologna, Biagini joined LMU in 2005, where she was appointed to the Chair of Applied Mathematics in 2009. Her research interests focus on the mathematics of public finance, and on stochastic analysis. Francesca Biagini has served as Director of the Department of Mathematics since 2011 – with a short break – and she is the Director of the International Master’s Program in Financial and Insurance Mathematics at LMU. She has also been a member of the University Investigating Commission since 2007 and is a dedicated mentor.

Professor Dr. Oliver Jahraus studied German Language and Literature at LMU, and graduated with an MA in 1990. He completed his PhD with a thesis on the works of Thomas Bernhard in 1992 and his Habilitation on Literature as a Medium in 2001. Having held academic positions at LMU and Bamberg University, he was appointed to the Chair of Modern German Literature and Media at LMU in 2005. His research interests range from literature in the Goethe era to the work of contemporary authors, and extend to Media, Film and Cultural Studies as well as theory construction in the Humanities. Oliver Jahraus has been a fellow at LMU’s Center for Advanced Studies (CAS) and at the Morphomata Center in Cologne. He has served as Joint Coordinator of the Graduate School in Aesthetic Competence, as Dean of the Faculty of Languages and Literatures (2007-2009) and as LMU’s Commissioner for the Bologna Process (2009-2011). He became a member of the University Teaching Committee in 2011 and chaired the Committee from 2011 to 2016.

Dr. Sigmund Stintzing studied Physics at LMU, obtaining his PhD in 1996 with a thesis on Statistical Physics. He then devised a course in Computer-Assisted Physics in the Faculty of Physics. Since 1996, he has held a number of administrative positions at both the faculty and the university level and was a member of the University Senate and LMU’s Budgetary Committee from 2002 to 2006. He served as Deputy Managing Director of the Physics Department from 2003 to 2005, before taking over as Managing Director of the Faculty of Physics. Sigmund Stintzing has been Vice-President of LMU since 2007.

Professor Dr. Hans van Ess studied Sinology, Philosophy and Turkology in Hamburg and Shanghai, and obtained his PhD with a thesis on the intellectual history of the Han Period (2nd century BCE – 2nd century CE). He served as Regional Manager for the German Asia-Pacific Business Association before becoming Assistant Professor at Heidelberg University. He completed his Habilitation with a thesis on Neo-Confucianism during the 11th and 12th century. In 1998, he was appointed to a Chair of Sinology at LMU. His major research interests include Chinese intellectual history and early Chinese historiography, Confucianism and the history of Central Asia, more specifically Mongolia and Manchuria from the 13th to the 20th century. Hans van Ess served as Dean of the Faculty for the Study of Culture between 2003 and 2005. He was Vice-President from 2007 to 2009, and was re-elected to the University Executive Board in 2013. In 2015, Hans van Ess became President of the Max Weber Foundation.

What are you looking for?