University Council: New chairman and new members

30 Sep 2021

In its last meeting, the University Council of LMU Munich elected the French mathematician Prof. Dr. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon chairman. Professor Bourguignon is the former president of the European Research Council and will take office starting with the next meeting. He has been a member of LMU’s University Council since January 2020 and has suspended his membership until his retirement as President of the ERC. In the office of chairman, he succeeds Prof. Dr. Hans Weder, who led the University Council from 2011 to 2019.

From October 1, 2021, there will be further changes on the University Council. Prof. Dr. Michael Hengartner, president of the ETH Board and former president of the University of Zurich, succeeds Prof. Dr. Hilbert von Löhneysen, who has reached the maximum eight years in office. From the LMU Senate, the following members have been elected to the University Council for the next two years: Prof. Dr. Peter Conzen (Deputy Chairman of the University Council), Prof. Dr. Thomas Buchheim, Prof. Dr. Martin Burgi, Prof. Dr. Dieter Lüst, Prof. Dr. Armin Nassehi, Prof. Dr. Ralf Zimmer as well as Bernhard Emmer and Markus Ludwig as representatives of the scientific and other employees, respectively. The student representatives will not be known until the Student Convention is constituted in mid-October.

"I would like to sincerely thank the departing members for their valuable cooperation and their great commitment to LMU," said LMU President Bernd Huber. "With the newly appointed members now in place, the University Council is once again in an excellent position, and I look forward to future collaboration with the University Council under the leadership of Jean-Pierre Bourguignon."

The LMU University Council is composed of ten members of the Senate and ten personalities from science, culture and, in particular, business and professional practice. The University Executive Board and the LMU women's representative are permanent advisory members of the University Council.

What are you looking for?