University Council: Non-university members confirmed

21 Jul 2023

The list of nominations for the ten external members of the University Council of Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) Munich was unanimously confirmed by the Senate.

Sicht auf das Hauptgebäude und den Ludwigskirche aus dem Lehrturm der Juristischen Fakultät.


On Thursday, the list of ten proposed non-university members of the University Council of Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) Munich was confirmed unanimously by the Senate. Professor Claudia Binder, École Polytechnique Fédérale Lausanne (EPFL), Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, President emeritus of the European Research Council, Professor Stéphanie Debette, Université de Bordeaux, Tanja Graf, Director of Literaturhaus München, Professor Michael Hengartner, President of the ETH Board, Robert-Jan Smits, President of TU Eindhoven, Professor Eva Wiberg, Lund University, and Dr. Katja Wildermuth, Director of Bayerischer Rundfunk, were all confirmed in office. Newcomers to the University Council are Peter Küspert, President of the Higher Regional Court of Munich and of the Bavarian Constitutional Court (retd.), and Dr. Bernhard Schwab, Chairman of the Management Board of LfA Förderbank Bayern.

“I am pleased that we have once again been able to secure the services of highly respected personalities from the business, academic and cultural arenas to work with us on the LMU University Council. Eight of these members will be supporting us for a renewed period in office,” said Professor Bernd Huber, President of LMU. “The University Council advises LMU Munich on strategic matters. Thanks to the expertise of its members, it provides valuable input to the ongoing development of our university.”

The LMU University Council comprises ten members of the Senate and ten individuals from the academic and cultural communities and, in particular, from the business arena and the circle of professional practitioners. The University Executive Board and the LMU Women’s Affairs Officer serve the University Council as permanent consultative members. The University Council is LMU’s central supervisory and decision-making body. Subject to the members’ appointment by Markus Blume, Bavarian State Minister for Science and the Arts, the University Council’s new term of office will begin on 1 October 2023.

What are you looking for?