Erasmus is a success story. LMU has recorded Erasmus exchanges since 1989 and currently cooperates with 380 European partner universities. The Erasmus Programme supports measures to promote mobility of students, teachers and other categories of university staff for training purposes, with a view to promoting cooperation between universities in and beyond Europe.

Contractual basis

To ensure LMU's participation in the Erasmus+ Programme (for the period 2021–2027), the International Office, on behalf of LMU's Executive Board, successfully applied for the Erasmus Charta for Higher Education (ECHE). With the application LMU submitted a mandatory European Policy Statement, which, in accordance with a predefined structure, outlined LMU's goals with respect to its future international orientation.

Mobility within Europe: Erasmus+ Programme Countries (KA 131)

In accordance with the Erasmus+ Programme KA 131, LMU students may study at any of our 380 Erasmus partner universities or carry out an internship elsewhere in Europe. LMU's academic staff may teach at partner institutions and both teaching and administrative staff may participate in training programs designed to enhance and develop their skills.

Mobility beyond Europe: Erasmus+ Partner Countries (KA 171)

Together with a selected group of partner universities worldwide, LMU participates in the Erasmus+ Programme for cooperation with partner countries (KA171). This program facilitates exchanges of university teachers and administrative staff who wish to participate in teaching or training activities at any of the partner institutions. The program also supports students from partner institutions who wish to study at LMU.

Erasmus Mundus

The European Commission's Erasmus Mundus scheme is a prestigious, integrated study program, delivered by an international consortium of higher education institutions. Erasmus Mundus graduates are awarded a double degree. LMU is involved in the following joint study programs:

European University

The Erasmus initiative "European Universities" is designed to stimulate the formation of alliances between universities. Its primary aim is to more effectively exploit the diverse strengths of Europe's research universities by enabling them to form novel networks in appropriate fields. Together with universities in Paris, Lund, Porto and Szeged, LMU is a partner in the European University Alliance for Global Health (EUGLOH).

Further information on the programs is available on the websites of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the German National Agency, and the European Commission.


Andrea Blei

International Office

Head of Erasmus+ Coordination & Incoming Mobility

Send an email

+49 89 2180-5309



This project was funded with support from the European Commission. The author is solely responsible for the content of this publication; the Commission is not liable for further use of information contained therein.

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn
Tel: +49 800 2014020

What are you looking for?