LMU ‒ China Academic Network (LMU-ChAN)

The LMU ‒ China Academic Network was established in 2015 and now includes 10 of China’s most renowned universities, all of which are located in and around Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong.

Source: LMU Munich


Since 2005, LMU Munich has established a wide range of contacts and collaborations with outstanding partners and leading research universities in China in the fields of Life Sciences and Health, Environmental and Geosciences, as well as the Humanities and Social Sciences.

LMU began to develop the LMU ‒ China Academic Network project (LMU-ChAN) in 2015. Unlike strategic partnerships, each of which involves a single partnering university, the network model allows one to focus on different scientific areas and diverse collaboration models, and generates additional synergy effects. The network now includes the following leading universities in China:

  • Fudan University
  • Nanjing University
  • Peking University
  • Renmin University
  • Shanghai Jiaotong University
  • Sun Yat-sen University
  • The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • The University of Hong Kong
  • Tongji University
  • Tsinghua University
  • Zhejiang University

Funding opportunities

LMU researchers who are planning to collaborate with one or more of the ChAN universities may apply to the ChAN partnership fund, which provides grants for the following purposes:

  • Visit to the partner's institution to initiate or evaluate a partnership
  • Organization of a workshop or conference
  • Participation in a conference
  • Research visit (up to 3 months, both directions)
  • Guest fellowship (up to 3 months, both directions)
  • Publications

Details regarding the call for applications for the funding period 2024 will be published soon.

Doctoral candidates are invited to apply to the LMU-CSC Program for scholarships. The Program enables highly qualified Chinese postgraduates to obtain their doctoral degrees, or conduct research for a doctoral dissertation, at LMU.

Scientific Forum

The annual Scientific Forum is an important element of the network’s structure. The Forum not only serves to generate ideas for collaborative ventures in research and teaching, it also helps to nurture and extend existing contacts and interactions. The symposium comprises lectures, panel discussions and workshops with between 70 and 100 participants. It brings together both established and early-career researchers, as well as students from LMU and China. The Forum is hosted by LMU and one or other of the partnering universities in alternate years.

  • The seventh Scientific Forum will take place at Fudan University in Shanghai.

LMU-ChAN Advisory Board

  • Prof. Dr. Hans van Ess, Vice-President for Research
  • Prof. Dr. Francesca Biagini, Vice President for International Affairs and Diversity

  • Prof. Dr. Claude Becker (Genetics)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Biel (Pharmacology)
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Bode (English Studies and Comparative Literature)
  • Prof. Dr. Thorben Cordes (Microbiology)
  • Prof. Dr. Alexander Gerbes (Medicine)
  • Prof. Dr. Stuart Gilder (Geophysics)
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Glass (Medicine)
  • Dr. Bernhard Goodwin (Communication Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Högl (Leadership and Organization)
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Hoppe (History of Arts)
  • Prof. Dr. Axel Hutter (Philosophy)
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Illing (Macroeconomics)
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Henning Kunz (Plant Sciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Lauster (Protestant Theology)
  • Prof. Dr. Christof Mauch (Environment and Society)
  • Prof. Dr. Markus Meißner (Veterinary Sciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Plesnila (Neurosciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Renner (History)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Richter (Risk and Insurance)
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Roche (German as a Foreign Language)
  • Prof. Dr. Eva Ruhnau
  • Prof. Dr. Paul W. Thurner (Political Science)
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Turck (Neurosciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Friedrich Vollhardt (German Philology)
  • Prof. Dr. Ernst Wagner (Pharmaceutical Biology and Biotechnology)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Walter (Law)

  • Hannah Weckemann (LMU-ChAN Project Coordinator)


Hannah Weckemann

International Office

LMU-China Academic Network (ChAN), LMUexchange: Mainland China, Hongkong, Taiwan

Send an email

+49 89 2180-3524

LMU Liaison Officer in Beijing

LMU is represented in China by an academically qualified Liaison Officer, who is based in Beijing.

Dr. Tingjian Cai

International Office

LMU representation for China (Beijing)

Send an email

What are you looking for?