Teaching awards

Researchers at LMU are regularly honored for innovative teaching projects and outstanding achievements in teaching.

Ars Legendi Prize

Logo Ars Legendi Prize

© Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft e.V.

The Ars Legendi Prize is one of the most prestigious prizes for education in Germany. It is awarded by the German Rectors' Conference and the Stifterverband (German Association for the Advancement of the Arts and Sciences) and endowed with 50,000 euros.

The following professors have been awarded the Ars Legendi Prize at LMU to date:

  • Prof. Stephan Lorenz (2013)
    Faculty of Law

  • Prof. Joachim Winter (2008)
    Faculty of Economics

  • Prof. Reinhard Putz (2006)
    Medical Faculty

Award for Good Teaching

The atrium of the LMU with the statue of Ludwig I.

© Benno Grieshaber Photoproduktion

The Bavarian State Ministry for Science and the Arts bestows the annual Award for Good Teaching, which honors the best university teachers at Bavarian universities and colleges. The award comes with 5,000 euros in prize money and recognizes outstanding achievements in teaching.

In 2024, the following LMU researchers were presented with the Award for Good Teaching:

  • Kim Chi Tran
    Faculty of Law
  • Prof. Dr. Sven Strickroth
    Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Statistics

LMU Teaching Innovation Award

Blick in einen großen Hörsaal voller Studierenden während einer Vorlesung.

© Katharina Vukadin

The LMU Teaching Innovation Award, which includes prize money of 10,000 euros, recognizes teachers who develop and implement particularly innovative courses or implemented teaching or examination concepts.

Previous award winners have, for example, developed courses in which students are motivated to collaborate across disciplinary boundaries, or found special forms of networking between professional life and practice.

The award ceremony takes place on the annual Good Teaching Day at LMU. Since 2021, one of the awards has been sponsored by the Munich University Society.

Nominations for the award are submitted once a year by the faculties. Those interested are asked to contact the responsible vice dean of their faculty.

What are you looking for?